SAGE Award Finalists Announced!



The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce and MetroAction announced today the finalists for the 2012 SAGE Awards, (Scranton Awards for Growth and Excellence), honoring outstanding local businesses for their talent, creativity, and innovation in a challenging business environment.

A group of community leaders and professionals teamed up to review applications and select finalists. The Chamber and MetroAction are proud to honor businesses that are making valuable contributions to the region and contributing to our overall quality of life.  The finalists, in each category, are:


Best Practices in Community Involvement

  • PPL Electric
  • Powell Law
  • Tobyhanna Army Depot

Best Practices in Customer Service

  • Pennstar Bank
  • Tobyhanna Army Depot
  • Scranton Heart Institute

Best Practices in Marketing & Communications

  • Keen Bean Design
  • Lavelle Strategy Group
  • Halibut Blue Advertising

Best Practices in Professional Development

  • Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank
  • The University of Scranton Small Business Development Center
  • Tobyhanna Army Depot

Best Practices in Technology & Innovation

  • Keen Bean Design
  • Bucktown Bargains
  • Sculpted Ice Works

Green Practices

  • Johnny’s Car Wash
  • Green Field Energy Solutions
  • Woodloch

Healthy Workplace

  • Astro Apparel, Inc.
  • Paper Magic Group, a division of CSS Industries
  • Keystone Community Resources
  • Tobyhanna Army Depot
  • Pennsylvania American Water
  • The Honesdale National Bank

Hometown Star

  • NeighborWorks NEPA: Carbondale NeighborWorks Week
  • Greater Scranton Jaycees: Santa Parade
  • Entercom WB/Scranton: Scrantastic Spectacular

New & Emerging Business of the Year

  • Lavelle Strategy Group
  • New Visions Studio and Gallery
  • Why Not Designs by AngelaDawn

Non-Profit Organization of the Year

  • Voluntary Action Center
  • The Children’s Advocacy Center
  • Northeastern PA Technology Institute

Pride & Progress: Exterior Renovations

  • Carl von Luger Steak & Seafood
  • United Neighborhood Centers: Willow Apartments Scranton
  • Gravity Slope Colliery Authority: Oil House Restoration

Pride & Progress: Interior Renovations

  • Carl von Luger Steak & Seafood
  • The Palumbo Group: Nazareth Student Center, Marywood University
  • Sculpted Ice Works

Pride & Progress: Landscape & Site Design

  • Tobyhanna Federal Credit Union
  • Keystone College: Campus Rain Garden
  • Lackawanna County: Moosic Boundless Playground

Pride & Progress: New Construction

  • Quandel Construction Group and The University of Scranton: Loyola Science Center
  • Highland Associates: Issac Tripp Elementary School
  • Highland Associates: Whittier Elementary School

Small Business of the Year

  • KKPR Marketing and Public Relations
  • The Dance Studio
  • Sculpted Ice Works

Solo-preneur of the Year

  • Michael Straub, Michael Straub Photography
  • Maggie Calpin, Nibbles & Bits
  • Robert Dickert, Carl von Luger Steak & Seafood

Woman of Excellence

  • Lisa Hall-Zielinski, The University of Scranton Small Business Development Center
  • Helen Lavelle, Lavelle Strategy Group
  • Dr. Ann Pipinski, Johnson College

Young Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Katrina Foster, KKPR Marketing and Public Relations
  • Adam Weitzenkorn, New Visions Studio & Gallery
  • Amanda Kuhn, Smart Blonde Creative

The winner of each award category will be announced at the Chamber Gala on November 12th at the Mellow Theater at Lackawanna College. In addition, all award finalists will be entered into the People’s Choice Award, where the winner will be chosen by a community wide online vote.  For more information about the SAGE Awards or Chamber Gala visit

Buy Tickets!

Vote for People’s Choice Award