Congratulations to the 2012 SAGE Award Winners!

The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce and MetroAction recently announced the winners of the 2012 SAGE Awards (Scranton Awards for Growth and Excellence).  The SAGE Awards celebrate the outstanding efforts of the local business community.  Award winners were chosen from more than 100 applications submitted by businesses across northeastern Pennsylvania.  Winners were announced at the Chamber Gala, the organization’s premier event, held at the Mellow Theater at Lackawanna College on Monday, November 12, 2012.

All of the awards, with the exception of the People’s Choice Award, were judged by individual judging committees comprised of 42 volunteer judges. Each judge independently scored the applications using a point system and award winners were selected.

The People’s Choice Award recipient was selected through an online popular vote. All SAGE Award finalists from the 19 other award categories were included in the People’s Choice Award voting. Over 2,000 votes were cast during this one-week voting contest.

“The SAGE Awards honor the very best business achievements of our community,” said Austin Burke, President of The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce. “The success of these winners is a testament to their dedication, ingenuity, and vision.”

The winners of the 2012 SAGE Awards are:

Best Practices in Community Involvement

  • PPL Electric, Scranton


Best Practices in Customer Service 

  • Pennstar Bank, Scranton


Best Practices in Professional Development

  • Tobyhanna Army Depot, Tobyhanna


Best Practices in Marketing & Communications

  • Halibut Blue Advertising, Forty Fort


Best Practices in Technology & Innovation

  • Sculpted Ice Works, Lakeville


Green Practices

  • Green Field Energy Solutions, Greenfield Township


Healthy Workplace of the Year in Continuing Excellence

  • Astro Apparel, Inc., Scranton


Healthy Workplace of the Year

  • Paper Magic Group, a division of CSS Industries, Moosic


Hometown Star

  • Greater Scranton Jaycees: Santa Parade, Scranton


New & Emerging Business of the Year

  • Lavelle Strategy Group, Scranton


Non-Profit Organization of the Year

  • Voluntary Action Center, Scranton


Pride & Progress: Exterior Renovations

  • United Neighborhood Centers: Willow Apartments, Scranton


Pride & Progress: Interior Renovations

  • The Palumbo Group: Nazareth Student Center, Marywood University, Scranton


Pride & Progress: Landscape & Site Design

  • Lackawanna County: Moosic Boundless Playground, Moosic


Pride & Progress: New Construction

  • Quandel Construction Group and The University of Scranton: Loyola Science Center, Scranton


Pride & Progress: Project of the Year

  • Quandel Construction Group and The University of Scranton: Loyola Science Center, Scranton


Small Business of the Year

  • Sculpted Ice Works, Lakeville


Solo-preneur of the Year

  • Maggie Calpin, Nibbles & Bits, Scranton


Woman of Excellence

  • Dr. Ann Pipinski, Johnson College, Scranton


Young Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Katrina Foster, KKPR Marketing & Public Relations, Milford


People’s Choice

  • PPL Electric, Scranton